2021 US CANNABIS LEGALIZATION MAP

Keep up with cannabis laws, regulations and possession limits for each state in the US

AL AK AZ AR CA CO CT DE FL GA HI ID IL IN IA KS KY LA ME MD MA MI MN MS MO MT NE NV NH NJ NM NY NC ND OH OK OR PA RI SC SD TN TX UT VT VA WA WV WI WY DC

State Status Recreational Medicinal Decriminalized Legal possession up to Decriminalized fine Plant per household CBD legal
Alabama Illegal NO NO NO 0 0 if less than 0.3% THC
Alaska Legal YES YES YES 1oz 6 (less than 3 mature) YES
Arizona Legal YES YES YES 1oz 12 (>2 Residents), 6 (individuals) YES
Arkansas Mixed NO YES NO 2.5oz (medical marijuana patients only every 2 weeks) 6 (medical marijuana patients only) YES
California Legal YES YES YES 1oz 6 YES
Colorado Legal YES YES YES 1oz 12 (>2 Residents), 6 (individuals) YES
Connecticut Mixed NO YES YES 2.5oz/month Less than 1oz $150 (1st offense) / $500 (2nd offense) 6 per individual (medical marijuana patients only) YES
Delaware Mixed NO YES YES 6oz (medical marijuana patients only) $100 for less than 1oz 6 (medical marijuana patients only) YES
Florida Mixed NO YES NO 0 0 YES
Georgia Mixed NO NO (CBD Oil Only) NO 0 0 YES if less than 0.3% THC (no CBD in foods, beverages, supplements or animal feed)
Hawaii Mixed NO YES YES 0 $130 for less than 3gm 10 (medical marijuana patients only) & 3 (adult use) YES
Idaho Illegal NO NO NO 0 0 (medical marijuana patients only) & 3 (adult use) YES (hemp-derived, must contain 0 THC)
Illinois Legal YES YES YES Residents: No more than 30 grams of cannabis flower, 500 milligrams of THC, or five grams of cannabis concentrate / Nonresidents: No more than 15 grams of cannabis flower, 250 milligrams of THC, or 2.5 grams of cannabis concentrate. 5 YES
Indiana Illegal NO NO (CBD Oil Only) NO 0 0 YES (hemp-derived, must contain 0 THC)
Iowa Illegal NO NO (CBD Oil Only) NO 0 0 YES if less than 0.3% THC
Kansas Illegal NO NO NO 0 0 YES (hemp-derived, must contain 0 THC)
Kentucky Illegal NO NO (CBD Oil Only) NO 0 0 YES if less than 0.3% THC
Louisiana Mixed NO YES NO 30-day supply 0 YES if less than 0.3% THC
Maine Legal YES YES YES 2.5oz, no more than 5gm of concentrate 3 mature plants, 12 immature and unlimited seedlings YES
Maryland Mixed NO YES YES 1oz no specific laws YES
Massachusetts Legal YES YES YES 1oz on you, 10 oz in your home 12 (>2 Residents), 6 (individuals) YES
Michigan Legal YES YES YES 2.5oz, no more than 15 gms of concentrate including edibles 12 YES
Minnesota Mixed NO YES YES 30-day supply $200 for less than 1.5oz no specific laws YES
Missisipi Mixed NO YES YES 2.5oz $250 for less than 1oz 0 YES if less than 0.5% THC
Missouri Mixed NO YES YES 4oz $250 misdemeanor for less than 10gm (first time offenders only) 12 flowering marijuana plants, as well as 12 nonflowering plants and 12 clones YES if less than 0.3% THC for medical marijuana patients
Montana Legal YES YES YES 1oz 4 mature plants YES
Nebraska Illegal NO NO (CBD Oil Only) YES 0 $300 misdemeanor for less than 1oz (first time offenders only) 0 YES if hemp-derived and less than 0.3% THC
Nevada Legal YES YES YES 1oz 12 (>2 Residents), 6 (individuals) YES
New Hampshire Mixed NO YES YES 2oz $100 for less than 3/4oz 0 YES
New Jersey Legal YES YES YES 6oz 12 (>2 Residents), 6 (individuals) YES
New Mexico Mixed NO YES YES 2oz $25 for less than 1oz 4 mature plants and 12 seedlings (combined patient and caregiver) YES
New York Legal YES YES YES 3oz 12 (>2 Residents), 6 (individuals) YES
North Carolina Illegal NO NO (CBD Oil Only) YES 0 $200 for less than 1/2oz (first time offenders only) 0 YES
North Dakota Mixed NO YES YES 3gm (7.5 oz in 30-day period for “enhanced” cardholders) $1,000 for less than 1/2oz not specified (but medical marijuana patients must be at least 40 miles away from the nearest dispensary) YES (hemp-derived)
Ohio Mixed NO YES YES 8oz (90-day supply) $150 minor misdemeanor for less than 3.5oz 0 YES (hemp-derived)
Oklahoma Mixed NO YES NO 3oz 6 mature plants YES (hemp-derived)
Oregon Legal YES YES YES 8oz 4 YES
Pennsylvania Mixed NO YES YES 8oz (90-day supply) $500 misdemeanor for less than 30gm 0 YES
Rhode Island Mixed NO YES YES 2.5oz $150 civil violation for less than 1oz 12 plants and another 12 seedlings (medical marijuana patients and caregivers) YES (hemp-derived)
South Carolina Illegal NO NO (CBD Oil Only) NO 0 0 YES
South Dakota Legal YES YES YES 1oz 3 YES
Tennessee Illegal NO NO (CBD Oil Only) NO 0 0 hemp-derived and less than 0.3% THC
Texas Illegal NO NO (CBD Oil Only) NO Any amount 0 Low-THC (up to 0.5%), high-CBD (more than 10%) oil as prescribed by a physician
Utah Mixed NO YES NO 3.95oz (30-day supply) $150 minor misdemeanor for less than 3.5oz not specified (but medical marijuana patients must be at least 100 miles away from the nearest dispensary) YES less than 0.3% THC
Vermont Legal YES YES YES 1oz 2 mature and 4 immature plants for each adult YES
Virginia Legal YES YES YES 1oz (after July 1st 2021) 4 plants (after July 1st 2021) YES
Washington Legal YES YES YES 1oz and 3oz for medical marijuana patients (amounts differ for concentrates, edibles and infusions) 6 YES
West Virginia Mixed NO YES NO 30-day supply as determined by certified physician 0 YES (hemp-derived)
Wisconsin Illegal NO NO (CBD Oil Only) NO 0 0 YES
Wyoming Illegal NO NO (CBD Oil Only) NO 0 0 hemp-derived and less than 0.3% THC
Washington DC Legal YES YES YES 2oz 6 plants (3 mature) YES